+49 711 75 86 790 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Great ideas require competent partners.

    Ostertag & Partner

    Patentanwälte mbB • Epplestrasse 14 • 70597 Stuttgart
    Tel +49 711 75 86 790

  • 1

Patents

Innovations are your advantage.

read more

Patents

Innovations are your advantage

Patents protect technical inventions for a maximum duration of 20 years. In layman's terms: an invention is technical, if the inventor is typically expected to be an engineer or scientist. Thus, business- or game-related inventions, economic concepts or a linguistic speech recognition algorithm are not inventions capable of attaining patent protection.

In order for an invention to be protected by a patent it must be also be novel and involve an inventive step, in other words it must differ sufficiently from prior art. Prior art includes any written or oral description, usage or any other means of access to the invention by the public. The relevant prior art is searched by the patent offices and opposed to the applicant.

After a patent has been granted in Germany, it can be challenged by third parties by opposing the patent within nine months of granting of the patent. After the opposition period has lapsed, an nullity action may be brought before the Federal Patent Court. Many foreign legal systems provide comparable means of challenging patents

What we can do for you:

We provide consulting on whether a patent application is promising based on the known prior art, and we can also draft the patent application. We can also prepare the patent text directly in English, which is often helpful if the applicant is part of an international team. We then, in close cooperation with the applicant, represent the applicant in the grant procedure before the German and European Patent Office. Our fellow patent attorneys abroad are carefully hand-selected by us, ensuring any foreign patent applications are diligently represented outside of Europe.

We also assume the responsibilities of administration and renewal of your patents, offer support in case your patents are challenged or when actively challenging competitor patents, and also provide consulting concerning any questions surrounding patent infringement. Moreover, we also provide analysis of your patent portfolios or of others and prepare an assessment concerning various questions such as infringement, validity or due diligence.

Trademarks

The face of your company.

read more

Trademarks

Trademarks are marks used to distinguish goods or services of a company from competing companies. Trademarks can be of various form. Besides word marks and figurative marks (logos), combinations of words and figures, slogans, sound patterns and colours can be protected. Trademarks are protected for 10 years after registration. However, the duration of protection can be extended further by 10 years as many times as desired.

Trademarks are generally only registered if they are not descriptive of the claimed goods and services. Hence, a trademark is supposed to be imaginative and should not merely indicate a characteristic of the goods or services. Trademarks can only be enforced if they are used after the lapse of a multiple-year grace period.

What we can do for you:

We provide consulting on whether a trademark application is promising and can devise the list of goods and services for which protection is to be claimed. With your close cooperation and consulting we then carry out the registration process before the European trademark office EUIPO. Abroad, we assign carefully select fellow attorneys with your representation. Attaining trademark protection abroad via an international trademark application often times does not require engaging an attorney abroad.

Furthermore, we assume the administration and renewal of your trademarks, provide support in cases of attack on your trademarks or on competitor trademarks and provide consulting concerning any questions surrounding trademark infringement.

Designs

It's the first impression that counts.

read more

Designs

Designs can protect two-dimensional and three-dimensional appearances of products and parts thereof for a maximum duration of 25 years. The appearance is for the most part determined by a combination of shape, surface structure, material, lines, contours and colours.

Designs werden vom Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt und auch von den Patentämtern der meisten anderen Länder ohne Prüfung auf Schutzfähigkeit in ein Register eingetragen.

The German Patent Office and many other Patent Offices in foreign countries enter designs in a registry without examining whether the material requirements, particularly with regard to prior designs, are fulfilled. In order to be able to enforce designs they must be new and have individual character. The requirement of individual character is met if the overall impression the design has on an informed user differs from the overall impression any other known design has on the informed user.

What we can do for you:

We provide consulting on whether a design application is promising and can devise the application. Generally, this requires high-quality photographs, line drawings or rendered computer drawings. Hand-selected fellow attorneys abroad are trusted with foreign representation.

We also assume the responsibilities of administration and renewal of your designs, offer support in case your designs are challenged or when actively challenging competitor designs and also provide consulting concerning any questions surrounding design infringement.

Utility Models

Not just for small inventions.

read more

Utility Models

The Utility Model is often referred to as the "little brother" of the Patent, in large part due to its maximum duration of 10 years, which is half as long as the duration of a Patent. Also, only technical inventions are capable of attaining protection through a Utility Model. In contrast to Patents, methods cannot be protected by a Utility Model.

The requirements for protection are also identical with those for a Patent. Unlike a Patent, the description of a Utility Model or use of the invention by the inventor (or his/her legal successor, such as the employer) does not present prior art to be taken into account. Often times a Utility Model is the only option to effectively protect an invention after it has been unintentionally made public.

During the registration process the German Patent and Trademark Office does not examine the requirements for novelty, inventive step and industrial applicability. Therefore protection by a Utility Model is easier, quicker and more cost-effective than protection by a Patent. The examination is retroactively conducted when a Utility Model is to be enforced. Before enforcement the owner should carry out searches in order to evaluate the protectability.

What we can do for you:

We provide consulting on whether a Utility Model application is promising and possibly more appropriate than a Patent application. We can also devise a Utility Model application for you. We also assume the responsibilities of administration and renewal of your Utility Models, offer support in case your designs are challenged or when actively challenging competitor designs and also provide consulting concerning any questions surrounding Utility Model infringement. We also offer support in conducting any necessary searches and also evaluate the protectability of your Utility Model.

Employee Invention Law

Your employees are your capital.

read more

Employee Invention Law

The German Employee Invention Law regulates inventions made by employees, and in particular how rights to an invention are passed by an employee to the employer and which resulting obligations the employee and employer must consider.

Initially, the inventor is entitled to the invention; in the case of multiple inventors the invention is jointly owned. Should the inventor be an employee, then the inventor must report the invention in written form to his/her employer. The employer can either make use of the invention or release the invention to the inventor. Should the employer decide to make use of the invention, he/she generally has to submit a German Patent application. The employee can otherwise freely dispose of the invention and, for example, apply for proprietary rights at one's own expense.

What we can do for you:

We provide consulting to both employee inventors and employers concerning any questions surrounding the Employee Invention Law. Royalty claims of employees against their employers are particularly common dispute issues. Employers are consulted on how they can feasibly implement the extensive requirements of the Employee Invention Law.

License and Contract Law

Better off without a dispute.

read more

Lizenz- und Vertragsrecht

Better off without a dispute

The owners of proprietary rights do not always use their inventions themselves. They can also grant licenses to third parties. Licensing contracts not only regulate licensing fees but also many other aspects in order to avoid conflicts between the contract parties.

What we can do for you:

We provide consulting on which type of license is most cost-effective for you and draft a licensing contract tailored to your needs.

About us

The firm was founded in 1976 by Dr. Ulrich Ostertag. Today four partners, three trainee patent attornies, one patent engineer and seven paralegals represent our primarily inland and international clients in all aspects of intellectual property.

The majority of our clients are regionally based medium-sized companies; however, we also represent young start-up enterprises and large corporations. Our clients include leaders in the fields of plant and mechanical engineering, medical technology and optics.

Internationally we cooperate with carefully selected law firms to ensure that our clients have an optimum level of support in gaining and maintaining their intellectual property rights abroad. Our primary objective is to offer our clients exceptionally high quality expertise combined with solutions tailor-made to suit their requirements. We set very high standards with regard to the qualification of each and every attorney we instruct and expect first class achievements in both their university education and their professional training.

All of our partners are admitted to practice before the German Patent and Trademark Office, the European Patent Office, the Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market (responsible for community trademarks and registered designs), the German Federal Patent Court and -in patent nullification cases- before the German Federal Court of Justice.

Our premises are located in Stuttgart-Degerloch, a busy business district surrounded by forests and fields overlooking Stuttgart, a metropolis that is home to many world-famous German manufacturers.

Even
difficult inventions
are in good hands with us.

Our broad university education at renowned German and international universities allow us to consult clients in practically all fields of technology. Even when things get difficult, you can rely on our technical-scientific knowledge.
We are also supported by freelancing attorneys specialised in the fields of chemistry and biotechnology.

Our team

  • 1

Patent publications

  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random

Address

OSTERTAG & PARTNER Patentanwälte mbB
Epplestrasse 14 70597 Stuttgart

Tel +49 711 75 86 790
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Fax +49 711 76 55 701

+49 711 75 86 790 Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!
  • Gute Ideen brauchen kompetente Partner.

    Ostertag & Partner

    Patentanwälte mbB • Epplestrasse 14 • 70597 Stuttgart
  • 1

Patente

Innovationen sind Ihr Vorsprung

weiterlesen

Patente

Innovationen sind Ihr Vorsprung

Mit Patenten können technische Erfindungen für eine Dauer von maximal 20 Jahren geschützt werden. Vereinfacht gesagt ist eine Erfindung technisch, wenn man als Erfinder typischerweise einen Ingenieur oder einen Naturwissenschaftler erwartet. Eine Spiel- oder Geschäftsidee, ein betriebswirtschaftliches Konzept oder ein linguistischer Algorithmus zur Spracherkennung sind demnach keine dem Patentschutz zugänglichen Erfindungen.

Um durch ein Patent geschützt werden zu können, muss eine Erfindung zudem neu sein und auf erfinderischer Tätigkeit beruhen, also einen ausreichend großen Abstand vom Stand der Technik haben. Zum Stand der Technik gehört alles, was vor dem Anmeldetag durch schriftliche oder mündliche Beschreibung, durch Benutzung oder in sonstiger Weise der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht worden ist. Der einschlägige Stand der Technik wird von den Patentämtern ermittelt und dem Anmelder entgegengehalten, soweit er für die Beurteilung der Schutzfähigkeit relevant ist.

Nach der Erteilung kann ein in Deutschland wirksames Patent durch Dritte angegriffen werden, und zwar durch Einlegen eines Einspruchs innerhalb von neun Monaten nach Erteilung. Nach Ablauf der Einspruchsfrist kann Nichtigkeitsklage vor dem Bundespatentgericht erhoben werden. Viele ausländische Rechtsordnungen sehen vergleichbare Angriffsmöglichkeiten auf Patente vor.

Was wir für Sie leisten:

Wir beraten Sie bei der Entscheidung, ob eine Patentanmeldung auf der Grundlage des Ihnen bekannten Standes der Technik aussichtsreich ist, und arbeiten gegebenenfalls die Patentanmeldung aus. Bei Bedarf verfassen wir den Text direkt in englischer Sprache, was die Abwicklung in einem internationalen Team sehr erleichtern kann. Anschließend führen wir in Absprache mit Ihnen das Erteilungsverfahren vor dem deutschen und dem europäischen Patentamt. Im Ausland beauftragen wir von uns sorgfältig ausgesuchte Anwaltskollegen mit der Vertretung.

Außerdem übernehmen wir die Verwaltung und Verlängerung Ihrer Patente, unterstützen Sie im Falle von Angriffen auf Ihre Patente oder auf Patente von Wettbewerbern und beraten Sie in allen mit der Verletzung von Patenten zusammenhängenden Fragen. Ferner analysieren wir eigene oder fremde Patentportfolios und erstellen Gutachten zu verschiedensten Fragestellungen wie Verletzung, Rechtsbestand oder Due Diligence.

Marken

Das Gesicht Ihres Unternehmens.

weiterlesen

Marken

Marken sind Zeichen, die dazu dienen, Waren oder Dienstleistungen eines Unternehmens von konkurrierenden Waren oder Dienstleistungen anderer Unternehmen zu unterscheiden. Marken können vielfältige Formen haben. Neben Wortmarken und Bildmarken (Logos) können auch Kombination von Wörtern und Bildern, Slogans, Klangfolgen oder Farben geschützt werden. Nach der Eintragung genießt eine Marke 10 Jahre lang Schutz, die Schutzdauer kann aber beliebig oft um weitere 10 Jahre verlängert werden.

Grundsätzlich werden Marken nur dann eingetragen, wenn sie bezüglich der beanspruchten Waren und Dienstleistungen nicht beschreibend sind. Deswegen sollte eine Marke phantasievoll sein und nicht lediglich eine Eigenschaft der Waren oder Dienstleistung bezeichnen. Marken können nur durchgesetzt werden, wenn sie nach Ablauf einer mehrjährigen Schonfrist vom Inhaber oder einem Lizenznehmer benutzt werden.

Was wir für Sie leisten:

Wir beraten Sie bei der Entscheidung, ob eine Markenanmeldung aussichtsreich ist, und arbeiten gegebenenfalls das Verzeichnis der Waren und Dienstleistungen aus, für die Schutz beansprucht wird. Anschließend führen wir in Absprache mit Ihnen das Eintragungsverfahren vor dem deutschen Patent- und Markenamt und dem europäischen Markenamt EUIPO durch. Im Ausland beauftragen wir von uns sorgfältig ausgesuchte Anwaltskollegen mit der Vertretung, Wenn Markenschutz im Ausland über eine internationale Registrierung erlangt werden kann, müssen häufig keine Anwälte im Ausland eingeschaltet werden.

Außerdem übernehmen wir die Verwaltung und Verlängerung Ihrer Marken, unterstützen Sie im Falle von Angriffen auf Ihre Marken oder auf Marken von Wettbewerbern und beraten Sie in allen mit der Verletzung von Marken zusammenhängenden Fragen.

Designs

Der erste Eindruck zählt.

weiterlesen

Designs

Mit Designs (früher Geschmacksmuster genannt) lassen sich zweidimensionale oder dreidimensionale Erscheinungsformen von Erzeugnissen oder Teilen davon für eine Dauer von maximal 25 Jahren schützen. Bestimmt wird die Erscheinungsform meist durch eine Kombination aus Gestalt, Oberflächenstruktur, Werkstoff, Linien, Konturen und Farben.

Designs werden vom Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt und auch von den Patentämtern der meisten anderen Länder ohne Prüfung auf Schutzfähigkeit in ein Register eingetragen.

Um ein eingetragenes Design durchsetzen zu können, muss es neu sein und Eigenart aufweisen. Eigenart ist gegeben, wenn der Gesamteindruck, den das Design auf einen informierten Benutzer macht, sich von dem Gesamteindruck unterscheidet, den jedes andere bekannte Design auf den informierten Benutzer macht.

Was wir für Sie leisten:

Wir beraten Sie bei der Entscheidung, ob eine die Anmeldung eines Designs aussichtsreich ist, und arbeiten gegebenenfalls die Anmeldung aus. Benötigt werden hierzu in der Regel qualitativ hochwertige Fotografien, Strichzeichnungen oder gerenderte Computerzeichnungen. Im Ausland beauftragen wir von uns sorgfältig ausgesuchte Anwaltskollegen mit der Vertretung.

Außerdem übernehmen wir die Verwaltung und Verlängerung Ihrer Designs, unterstützen Sie im Falle von Angriffen auf Ihre Designs oder auf Designs von Wettbewerbern und beraten Sie in allen mit der Verletzung von Designs zusammenhängenden Fragen.

Gebrauchsmuster

Nicht nur für kleine Erfindungen.

weiterlesen

Gebrauchsmuster

Das Gebrauchsmuster wird oft als der "kleine Bruder" des Patents bezeichnet, vor allem wegen der im Vergleich zum Patent halbierten maximalen Laufzeit von nur 10 Jahren. Auch dem Gebrauchsmusterschutz sind nur technische Erfindungen zugänglich. Im Unterschied zu Patenten können mit Gebrauchsmustern jedoch keine Verfahren geschützt werden.

Auch die Schutzvoraussetzungen sind die gleichen wie beim Patent. Anders als bei Patenten stellt jedoch eine Beschreibung oder Benutzung der Erfindung durch den Erfinder (oder seinen Rechtsnachfolger, z.B. den Arbeitgeber) keinen zu berücksichtigenden Stand der Technik dar. Wenn "versehentlich" eine Erfindung nach außen gedrungen ist, stellt ein Gebrauchsmuster somit häufig die letzte Möglichkeit dar, die Erfindung noch wirksam zu schützen.

Im Eintragungsverfahren werden vom Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt die Schutzvoraussetzungen (Neuheit, erfinderischer Schritt und gewerbliche Anwendbarkeit) nicht geprüft. Dadurch ist der Gebrauchsmusterschutz einfacher, schneller und kostengünstiger zu erlangen als ein Patentschutz. Diese Prüfung wird vom Patentamt nachgeholt, wenn das Gebrauchsmuster durchgesetzt werden soll. Vor einer Durchsetzung sollte der Inhaber deswegen selbst Recherchen durchführen, um die Schutzfähigkeit bewerten zu können.

Was wir für Sie leisten:

Wir beraten Sie bei der Entscheidung, ob eine Gebrauchsmusteranmeldung aussichtsreich und im Vergleich zu einer Patentanmeldung zweckmäßiger ist, und arbeiten gegebenenfalls die Gebrauchsmusteranmeldung aus.

Außerdem übernehmen wir die Verwaltung und Verlängerung Ihrer Gebrauchsmuster, unterstützen Sie im Falle von Angriffen auf Ihre Gebrauchsmuster oder auf Gebrauchsmuster von Wettbewerbern und beraten Sie in allen mit der Verletzung von Gebrauchsmustern zusammenhängenden Fragen. Selbstverständlich unterstützen wir Sie auch bei der eventuell notwendigen Recherche und bewerten die Schutzfähigkeit Ihres Gebrauchsmusters.

Arbeitnehmer-Erfinderrecht

Ihre Mitarbeiter sind Ihr Kapital.

weiterlesen

Arbeitnehmererfinderrecht

Das Gesetz über Arbeitnehmererfindungen regelt, wie Rechte an einer Erfindung von einem Arbeitnehmer auf den Arbeitgeber übergehen und welche Pflichten sich daraus für den Arbeitnehmer und vor allem für den Arbeitgeber ergeben.

Die Erfindung steht zunächst dem Erfinder zu; bei mehreren Erfindern gehört die Erfindung den Erfindern gemeinschaftlich. Ist der Erfinder Arbeitnehmer, muss er die Erfindung seinem Arbeitgeber in Textform melden. Der Arbeitgeber kann die Erfindung in Anspruch nehmen oder sie dem Erfinder freigeben. Entscheidet sich der Arbeitgeber für die Inanspruchnahme, so muss er in der Regel eine deutsche Patentanmeldung einreichen. Ansonsten kann der Arbeitnehmer selbst über die Erfindung verfügen und beispielsweise auf eigene Kosten ein Schutzrecht anmelden.

Was wir für Sie leisten:

Wir beraten sowohl Arbeitnehmererfinder als auch Arbeitgeber in allen arbeitnehmererfinderrechtlichen Fragen. Besonders häufig im Streit stehen Vergütungsansprüche des Arbeitnehmers gegenüber dem Arbeitgeber. Arbeitgeber erfahren von uns, wie sie die weitreichenden Vorschriften des Arbeitnehmererfindergesetzes praktikabel umsetzen können.

Lizenz- und Vertragsrecht

Besser keinen Streit

weiterlesen

Lizenz- und Vertragsrecht

Besser keinen Streit

Die Inhaber von Schutzrechten benutzen die geschützten Erfindungen, Marken oder Designs nicht immer selbst, sondern können Lizenzen an Dritte erteilen. In Lizenzverträgen sind nicht nur die Höhe der Lizenzgebühren, sondern viele andere Gesichtspunkte geregelt, um Streit zwischen den Vertragsparteien zu vermeiden.

Was wir für Sie leisten:

Wir beraten Sie, welcher Typ von Lizenz für Sie am günstigsten ist, und arbeiten für Sie einen Lizenzvertrag aus, der an ihre Bedürfnisse angepasst ist.

Über uns

Die Kanzlei wurde 1976 von Dr. Ulrich Ostertag gegründet. Inzwischen betreuen vier Partner, drei Patentanwaltskandidaten, ein Patentingenieur sowie sieben Sachbearbeiterinnen unsere vorwiegend inländischen und unsere ausländischen Mandanten auf allen Gebieten des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes.

Die Mehrzahl unserer Mandanten sind regional ansässige mittelständische Unternehmen; wir vertreten jedoch auch junge Start-up-Unternehmen sowie Großunternehmen. Zu unseren Mandanten gehören namhafte Firmen, u. a. auf den Gebieten des Anlagen- und Maschinenbaus, der Mess- und Medizintechnik und der Optik.

Im Ausland kooperieren wir mit sorgfältig ausgewählten Kanzleien, um unsere Mandanten auch dort optimal bei der Erlangung und Durchsetzung ihrer gewerblichen Schutzrechte zu unterstützen. Es ist unser vorrangiges Ziel, unseren Mandanten eine auf ihre Belange zugeschnittene und qualitativ erstklassige Beratung zu bieten. Wir stellen daher höchste Ansprüche an die Qualifikation jedes einzelnen Anwalts und legen Wert auf erstklassige Abschlüsse in ihrer universitären und beruflichen Ausbildung.

Alle Anwälte verfügen selbstverständlich über die Zulassung zur Vertretung vor dem Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt, dem Europäischen Patentamt, dem für Unionsmarken und Gemeinschaftsgeschmacksmuster zuständigen Amt der Europäischen Union für Geistiges Eigentum, dem Bundespatentgericht sowie in Patentnichtigkeitsberufungsverfahren vor dem Bundesgerichtshof.

Unsere Kanzleiräume befinden sich in Stuttgart-Degerloch, das von Wäldern und Wiesen umgeben über dem Stuttgarter Kessel liegt.


Bei uns sind auch
schwierige Erfindungen
in guten Händen

Durch unsere umfassende universitäre Ausbildung sind wir in der Lage, unsere Mandanten auf praktisch allen Gebieten der Technik zu beraten. Auch wenn es einmal richtig schwierig wird, können Sie auf unseren technisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Sachverstand setzen.
Für Mandate aus dem Bereich der Chemie und der Biotechnologie können wir gegebenenfalls auf die Unterstützung einer auf diesen Gebieten erfahrenen Patentanwältin zurückgreifen, die für uns seit vielen Jahren als freie Mitarbeiterin tätig ist.

Unser Team

  • 1

Patentschriften

  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random

Adresse

OSTERTAG & PARTNER Patentanwälte mbB
Epplestrasse 14 70597 Stuttgart

Tel +49 711 75 86 790
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!
Fax +49 711 76 55 701